Medal of Merit

Cambridge District Scout Archive

Medals of Merit were the highest award available to most leaders before 1940’s. The Silver Wolf was reserved for significant international work. The following list was compiled by H R Mallett DC and possibly later by W T Thurbon District Secretary.

Those without dates are entered in the approximate order of the date of taking a warrant.

Rev C T Wood9th1917
E H Church
G M MacFarlene Grieve5th1926
Fred Feary23rd1926
H R Mallet1932
T G Room (Ruffingham)2nd & Gazette ++1935
John Norris15th (active 1948)1936
W C Ward?1927?1937
A C Covell Certificate of Merit13th1939
J D PearceSeaScouts1939
R H Cooke (? Rooke)1939
W A Mackrow12th
A J Parr(1st, 35th, DSM, DC Mid Cambs1944
Miss F E Isaacson28th19441960
I G Long22nd19441960
H G F Cann19441960
W T ThurbonDistrict 23rd1944
Patrick Duff31st1946
R P Ayres60th1946
K P S NorthScout Shop19471960
Mrs. Cann26th1952
Dr GourlayDistrict1953
Rev G K TibbaltDistrict +19531968
W J Lowey7th1953
M F Howard60th19531964
C J WalkerDistrict19541976
E Lord (32nd before coming to Cambridge)
F A J MacKenzie11th 11th/9th1955
Mrs. R Conyers 1955
E Tilley1955
P R ArthurDC1956
Mrs. Beilby1960
Dr C P Brand1960
M D Brown1960
Mrs. V I Woodward19601968
Lt Col Mainwaring11th/9th DC1961
Mrs. Gardner SmithGSM 1934-56/ 56-61 latterly Rotherham<1961
M H McFarlane5th1963
R E Harper1965
(Wilfred) Victor BarnesASM Havant 38 – 40, GSM Leigh Pk ’59 – ’61, 28th1965
C A Mole1968
J Chambers13th 1968
Mrs. Chapple1968
F Coston13th1968
K Mackay1968
Ivor Meadows44th1968
C Palmer1968
L Percival ?1968
S A V RoperDistrict1968
Mrs. Spence1968
C Taylor?19681980
J Squires1972
J Banham?1972
Mrs. Kit Brown?1973
Tony Fowler19741980
A J Brown1975
R Farringdon1976
Mrs. Rosemary ChambersDistrict1977
Barry Howe6th1977
George Cattermole1977
Peter Maskell (some point after 1977)4th
Anthony Cha….1977
Barrie Sheehan26th1978
Mrs. N Day
John Wolfenden7th
Mike Lowe28th
Terry Izzard
Robert Henderson3rd2003
Ken Fletcher14th2003
End of this source
Barry Badcock7th/23rd2004

JWR Archivist June 2022