East Cambridge 1935: Mid Cambridgeshire

Mid Cambridgeshire/ Mid Cambs.

Cambridge District Scout Archive

On 5th June 1935 Cambridge District split into four Districts. It had been working as three sub districts for a year before the split. The apparently late addition of West Cambridge moved some groups from Cambridge and South Cambridge. North Cambridge was renamed East Cambridge and then quickly became Mid Cambridgeshire.

The records of North Cambridge, later East Cambridge, later Mid Cambridgeshire have not come down to the current Cambridge District Scout Archives in full. Because it was re absorbed during WW2 some early and late information is available. Some peripheral information has been gathered from The Scouter and around the very early years of the division.

This use of the name East Cambridge predates the amalgamation of Huntingdonshire and Cambridgeshire in 1977.  They do not cover the same geographical area.

The name changed even on the original Form A – B registration.  In 1934 the District ‘Cambridge’ was divided into three administrative sub districts designated Cambridge, North Cambridge, and South Cambridge in 1934.  In 1935 the areas were made into four separate Districts: Cambridge, West Cambridge (which quickly faded) South Cambridge and East Cambridge which had been called North Cambridge.  East Cambridge later became Mid Cambs.

North Cambridge (1934) = East Cambridge (1935) = Mid Cambridgeshire (1935)

A previous division of Cambridge into the administrative sub divisions North, East, South West, had occurred in the 1920’s. Details are unclear.

Geographically the District in 1935 was

Southern limit – Cambridge, Linton Road, junction with the London Newmarket Road at cross roads two miles north of Abington: Eastern limit   Devils Ditch, junction with Newmarket Road : Northern Limit  Bounded by Ely District (the old west river) : Western Limit – River Ouse, boundary Fen Drayton along Huntingdon Road to Cambridge

Eight Groups 1935

15313Bottisham59th Cambridge
9749 Histon 35th Cambridge
12735Landbeach 45th Cambridge
15820Wilbraham63rd Cambridge
16458Milton 65th Cambridge
16978 Lode66th Cambridge
16459Swaffham Bulbeck 67th Cambridge
7564 Littleton House School16th Cambridge
Census returns193519361937193819431944
Bottisham Village College (was Bottisham + Wilbraham)XXX
Cottenham Did not exist at transfer in 1935XX
Fen Ditton Did not exist at transfer
Histon XXXXX
Impington Village College (Was Histon)X
Landbeach XXXXXX
Littleton House SchoolXXXXXX
Milton ?XX?Xended
Swaffham Bulbeck X
Wilbraham (Great & Little)XX

The transfer but lack of census return for Milton in 1935 is an anomaly.

DC in 1941 was A J Parr

JWR Archivist Feb 2023