Evolution of Cambridgeshire Scout County

Cambridge District Scout Archive

Peterborough was part of Northamptonshire County between 1910 and 1912. Huntingdonshire/ Hunts and Peterborough split into E, W and S Hunts at different times, the boundaries altering, the three divisions not necessarily existing concurrently.

1965    Local Authority         Huntingdon and Peterborough were amalgamated as a Local Authority

1966    Scouts                         Hunts and Peterborough amalgamated by 1966

1973 Scouts East Cambs. ‘agreed to keep Newmarket in “Scout County”‘ although now in Suffolk.

1974    Local Authority         ‘Huntingdon and Peterborough’ joined ‘Isle of Ely and Cambridgeshire’   

1977    Scouts                         Creation of East and West Cambridgeshire        Cambridge became East Cambs. without apparent changes to borders. Huntingdon and Peterborough became West Cambs.

1990    Scouts                        East and West Cambridge Scout Districts amalgamated on 01/02/1990 to become Cambridgeshire Scout County

Rudimentary details of the Counties that amalgamated with Cambridgeshire/ East Cambridgeshire in 1990 can be found on individual pages.

  • Huntingdonshire
  • Peterborough
  • Huntingdonshire & Peterborough
  • West Cambridgeshire

Details of individual Districts within these counties have not yet been fully unpicked.

Note on badges: Ken North states in 1975 that the Cambridge badge first came in to being in 1926 ‘about this time’. He is clear that the design had not changed, ‘only the size, location and the position for wearing until when the new County was formed in 1960’s when we became East Cambs and the wording duly changed.’

From The Scouter
As held by the 12th Cambridge. The wall socket is left for scale.

In November 1968 the Cambridge Scout Gazette reported a plan for a new County Badge. See also http://www.scoutcollecting.co.uk / Our Collection / Scout County Badges / Cambridge

Granta formally closed 31st December 2012

JWR Archivist Jan 2019