Cambridge District Scout Archive
Haslingfield was founded in 1933, Harston joined as a patrol in 1934. The requirement for a purple woggle is a unique uniform need.
Harston became 1st Harston at some point but the date is not recorded in the Log Books held by the group. They refer to themselves as Harston. The Troop, Haslingfield and Harston, later Group, met together into late 1935 and whilst the name did not change for a time had Patrols based in Harlton/ Little Eversden, Harston, Haslingfield, Newton, and Hauxton; they met in their own villages and each aimed to specialise in one area of Scouting.
Many of the Groups in South Cambridgeshire worked together on shows and camps.
JWR Archivist Mar 2019