Abington Badges

Cambridge District Scout Archive

The following are badges from the Collection of John Chambers and reflect the activities held on site. The odd shape in the central badge and the ‘Four Districts’ referred to appears to be the combined outline around the three remaining Districts split from Cambridge District in 1935 (Cambridge, Crafts Hill and Granta) and Newmarket. I have not seen this written in any documents.

The later version in the lower picture describes it as East Cambridgeshire, a Scout County formed alongside West Cambridgeshire in 1977 following the 1974 amalgamation of Huntingdonshire, Peterborough and Cambridgeshire as the enlarged County of Cambridgeshire.

The 1987 blue square on the lower picture names six Districts; Ely, Newmarket, Granta, Crafts Hill and North and South Cambridge. Cambridge District had again subdivided into two Districts.

JWR Archivist Mar 2021